My first thoughts of Motherhood.

Wow. Where to start. What a whirlwind.

You grow this tiny human for over 9 months. (Basically 10 in my case). Feel them kick, see them on a screen, and see them move. You spend the whole time thinking about what is to come. Nothing can prepare you. Absolutely nothing.

You go through labour and all of a sudden, this tiny human that you’ve spent months growing, is here. That’s it your a Mum.

I’m not going to lie, there are times that are hard. So hard. I had my fair share of breakdowns. (Mainly about breastfeeding), but the adjustment to your new life is what got me most. I’ve spent the last 8 years living so carefree and all of a sudden, I have someone that relies on me. For everything.

It sounds corny, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I love my baby boy more than anything, but I didn’t feel that immediate connection, it took me a few weeks to really feel that ‘bond’. Don’t get me wrong, I loved him unconditionally, but I just couldn’t believe he was mine, I didn’t have that feeling. You feel bad, you feel like there is something wrong with you, how could you not have that instant ‘bond’. Don’t worry it comes, and it doesn’t make you any less of a mother or person.

Jasper Daniel Robert Rothery. I love you with all my heart. Thank you for making me a Mum. ❤

Leave a comment