I’m just doing what I’ve been told to do.

I think everybody at some point in there lives have been affected by the dreadful disease that is Cancer.

My aunty was diagnosed with breast cancer this year, on new years day – of all days!

I remember receiving the message from my mum, I was backstage preparing for a show and something told me to go online. (I was working on a cruise ship, where wi-fi was 12p a minute). The message informed me that they thought they had caught it early and also the course of action that they planned to take.

When I saw the message I had to leave the room, and I just sobbed. Working away has so many advantages, but the worst thing is when somebody needs you and there is nothing you can do to physically be there. So I did the only thing I could do, I sent a card and flowers and let her know that I was thinking of her.

Arriving home 4 months later, I finally managed to give my aunty a BIG hug. Lots of doctors appointments, cups of tea and tons of feeling crappy later, tomorrow is her final day of chemo. EVERYBODY CHEER!!!!

As those of you who have experienced cancer know, that’s not the end. But, my aunty is so strong (hun). She’s inspired me, she’s helped me and she’s shown a kind of grace to beating this disease. I don’t know many people who would deal with it the way she has. We spent the day together the other day, and one thing she said has stuck with me;

People keep on telling me to carry on fighting, but I’m not fighting. I’m just doing what I’ve been told to do.

I wish to send my love to anyone who is, or knows somebody who is beating cancer. You can beat it.

However I also know that not everybody has this privilege, and to those including my nanny and my great-aunt, rest in peace.

To my aunty Sue, I love you. Thank you for being you.

Leave a comment